Triple Mushroom Triple Cheese Grilled Cheese Sandwich

January 11, 2012 § Leave a comment

20120110-202728.jpg

20120110-202659.jpg

It started with two unexpected encounters with mushrooms. First, I returned to my day job after the holidays to find I’d been gifted a small bottle of black truffle infused oil. The following day, my amazing CSA Eating With the Seasons surprised me with a large, fresh, fleshy bunch of oyster mushrooms. Luckily my daughter is a big fan of mushrooms, so I set to work thinking of ways to use the fresh ‘shrooms up, and experiment with the oil. The Triple Mushroom Triple Cheese Grilled Cheese was the 2 year-old’s favorite (although when I asked her what her favorite part was, she immediately answered “the onions.” Kids say the darnedest things.) If you’re eager to get to the recipe, you can scroll down to the bottom of this post.20120110-202718.jpg

20120110-202745.jpg

To make this delicious sandwich, you could use the bread, cheese, mushrooms, and onion or veggies of your choice. I don’t think you need black truffle oil either, but it definitely added a level of flavor beyond your everyday grilled cheese.

For this particular version, I chose the crustiest whole grain bread I could find and bought some scallions as well. I like to use what I have when I can, so I was lucky to find some baby portabello mushrooms in the fridge. I also had a block of Muenster cheese, so I decided I’d use mostly that, and decided to add 2 slices of Monterey Jack and a handful of shredded sharp cheddar to the mix.

I sauteed the veggies in a bit of butter, then mixed them with the cheese and threw in some balsamic vinegar (the acid helped bring out the flavor of the components – the mushrooms and cheese alone were too bland for my liking).

20120110-202708.jpg

RECIPE:
Triple Mushroom, Triple Cheese Grilled Cheese Sandwich

1 1/4 c chopped mushrooms (I used half oyster mushrooms, half baby bellos)
2 scallions, washed, dried, and chopped (reserve some green for garnish)
1 T butter
8 oz cheese, chunked or shredded (I used 6 oz Muenster, 1 oz Monty Jack, 1 oz cheddar)
1 1/2 t aged balsamic vinegar
pinch black pepper
8 slices hearty, whole grain bread
2 T extra virgin olive oil
black truffle oil

In large frying pan, melt butter and sautee mushrooms and scallions on medium until softened but not mushy. Remove from heat and stir sauteed vegetables into cheese. Add vinegar and black pepper. Mix well.

In teacup or small bowl, combine olive oil and approximately 10 drops of black truffle oil – a little goes a long way with truffle oil!

Brush one side of each slice of bread with oil mixture. If you run out, just make more.

Wipe frying pan with dry cloth or paper towel and return to stove and heat to medium. I was able to make two grilled cheese sandwiches at a time with the following method.

Make the sandwiches.  Place two slices of bread, oil side down, in pan. Spoon cheese and mushroom mixture until it is about 1 inch thick, then place two top slices of bread, dry side down.  Place large dinner plate on top of sandwiches to trap in heat but also weight the sandwiches down (this step is optional but it will assure you get a good melt).  Grill for approximately five minutes or until nice and brown, then carefully flip sandwiches and grill for another five minutes.

Let sandwiches set on a plate or cutting board for 2-3 minutes before serving.

Makes 4 sandwiches.  One sandwich is a meal for an adult, or enough to feed two children.

Happy nibbling,
Sarah

20120110-202757.jpg

More from The Crafty Fork

Wholesome Pizza with Whole Wheat and Flax Seed Crust

Easy Rustic Matzo Ball Soup, Goy Style

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Triple Mushroom Triple Cheese Grilled Cheese Sandwich at The Crafty Fork.

meta